Made With Love, Props & More!

Bringing you all things handcrafted! From products to tutorials, patterns and more! All handcrafted with love!

Photographer Spotlight: Frozen Orchard Photography

Recently, we had the chance to sit down and chat with Nataliya from Frozen Orchard Photography.  She was kind enough to share with us some of her work and some helpful advice.   Read on to see what she had to say 🙂

Frozen Orchard Photography

Nataliya from Frozen Orchard Photography

MWL: Tell us a little bit about you.

FOP: I’m from Ukraine. My family moved to Wasilla AK, in March of 2002 when I was 10. I happen to be oldest child of family of 11 kids. Met my husband Eric in a college library (I know, classic) after a month of hanging out we got married in March. This year we welcomed our baby girl Bella, again in March. In simple words March is my favorite month.

MWL: When did you start taking pictures?

FOP:  I always loved photography but somehow managed to let family and friends convince me it wasn’t “my thing”. When I was home schooled I couldn’t decide what electives to take. My teacher asked me what I loved doing and I admitted it was still photography. He encouraged me to try online class, which I gladly did after finding out I was getting a free new camera to go with it. Of course I couldn’t sit long enough to pass the class but I did learn a lot from reading the lesson plans. That was my first hands on experimenting with taking pictures. After a while I decided to dress up my little sister and she became my little model until she bathed my camera in the toilet. My happy photographing days came to a halt and stayed that way for another 5 years.

MWL: When did you start professionally?

FOP: I can’t really say when I started because we had the camera forever. I bought it as an early birthday gift for my husband who loves photography as much as I do (if not more). He’s also the “creator” of Frozen Orchard and photographer. Our “official” first photo shoot was this February I believe. It’s hard to remember with the excitement of expecting our first child, but we did come a long way since then. I mostly learned from hands on experimenting. Eric on other hand has taken classes and knows more about the technical side of photography.

MWL: What do you shoot?

FOP: I love taking pictures no matter who or what the subject is. I find it a lot easier to pose people and objects than to do landscape or nature photography. I have done maternity, newborn, family/portraits, and weddings/events. I also have a slight obsession with props.

MWL: What is your favorite to shoot and why?

Photo courtesy of Frozen Orchard Photography

Photo courtesy of Frozen Orchard Photography

FOP: People! I love capturing the priceless expression of a child or taking a photo of someone and they look at it and say “Wow, I didn’t know I could look that good”. I love the way a bride and groom look at each other during their wedding ceremony, or a sleepy face of little newborn baby. Random facial expressions are my all-time favorite!

MWL: Can you describe your style?

FOP: My style changes all the time. Some of my photos look dreamy and almost old/vintage while others are crisp and clear. It all depends on who I’m taking photos of.

MWL: Tell us about your more interesting session.

FOP: My most memorable and interesting photo session was probably my very first one. It was a maternity shoot and I’ve never taken pictures of anyone outside family before. I expected it to be nerve wrecking and awkward but it ended up great. I still love the photos and can’t wait to do it again

MWL: What inspires you?

Photo courtesy of Frozen Orchard Photography

FOP: My biggest inspiration is my husband, who pushed me on even when I was ready to give up and taught me most of what I know today. He never gave up and it rubbed off on me, which I am forever grateful for.

MWL: Do you have a role model you look up to?

FOP: My favorite photographer is Oxana Brik. I thought I had to develop a specific style and stick to it until I saw some of her work. Her imagination has no end. She also won a few first places in Russia and a best photographer of the year award (also in Russia). I love her work.

MWL: If you could give any advice to fellow photographers, vendors, or parents, what would it be?

FOP:  I think photographers and vendors should try to have fun as much as possible. It’s hard to create something special when you don’t enjoy doing it. And sometimes inspirations come from the simplest things in life. For parents I’d say never miss an opportunity to record your child’s special moments. I personally don’t have any pictures of myself as a baby and sometimes it feels like a tiny part of me is missing. I can’t even tell if my baby looks anything like me as a baby.

Talking with Nataliya was such a pleasure.  It’s always great to get a little peek into a photographers world!  Nataliya leaves us with this quote:  “Never give up on your dreams and keep trying. Choosing a career is not just about the money.”   Drop in over at Frozen Orchard Photography, follow her on Facebook to see what she’ll create next!

Photo courtesy of Frozen Orchard Photography

If you’d like to be part of our Photographer Spotlight, just drop us a line here!

Leave a Reply

